American manufacturers to be recognized at Outdoor Retailer Winter Market

Author:
Updated:
Original:
AMOGA_Logo_lo_trans

ARCATA, CALIFORNIA, (For Immediate Release) – Winners of the 2015 American Made Outdoor Gear Awards will be announced at aceremony during the Outdoor Retailer Winter Market next week. The ceremony will be held in the Liberty Bottleworks booth (BRL233) from 5 to 6pm on Day 2 of the trade show, Thursday January 22, 2015.

The American Made Outdoor Gear Awards annually celebrates the stories of companies committed to American manufacturing and sourcing in the outdoor market. The winners will be selected from the list of finalists announced in November. 

  • Under 10 Employees: The American Mountain Company, Clarkston, MI – www.americanmountainco.com Topo Designs, Denver, CO – www.topodesigns.com Vedavoo, Lancaster, MA – www.vedavoo.com Voormi, Pagosa Springs, CO – www.voormi.com Zootility, Sommerville, MA – www.zootilitytools.com
  • 10 to 50 Employees: Hyperlite Mountain Gear, Biddeford, ME – www.hyperlitemountaingear.com Misty Mountain, Banner Elk, NC – www.mistymountain.com United by Blue, Philadelphia, PA – www.unitedbyblue.com Sylvan Sport, Brevard, NC – www.sylvansport.com Dahlgren Footwear, West Linn, WA – www.dahlgrenfootwear.com
  • 50-100 Employees: Duluth Pack, Duluth, MN – www.duluthpack.com Polar Bottles, Boulder, CO – www.polarbottles.com Sterling Rope, Biddeford, ME – www.sterlingrope.com Stormy Kromer, Ironwood, MI – www.stromykromer.com Timbuk2, San Francisco, CA – www.timbuk2.com
  • 100+ Employees: Cascade Designs, Seattle, WA – www.cascadedesigns.com Jackson Kayak, Sparta, TN – www.jacksonkayak.com L.L. Bean, Freeport, ME – www.llbean.com Lifetime Products, Clearfield, UT – www.lifetime.com Princeton Tec, Trenton, NJ – www.princetontec.com

The Grand Prize winner, selected from the category finalists, receives one-year ownership of ‘Sassy,’ a hand carved, large redwood Sasquatch from Humboldt County, CA. Category winners receive miniature versions of the award, and all entrants receive a certificate of participation. 

Over 110 of the most innovative domestic manufacturers in the outdoor market participated in the third-annual “Sassy” award program.

“With each award cycle the number of participants has grown steadily as has the quality of the applications,” said Jeff Turner, Kokatat sales and design manager. “These twenty companies have such amazing and inspiring stories to share it will be a difficult decision to select for each category let alone one overall winner.”

The American Made Outdoor Gear Award was founded in 2013 by Kokatat, the paddlesports apparel and gear company known for its longstanding commitment to American manufacturing, to recognize the leaders in American made quality, craftsmanship and creativity in the outdoor world.

For additional information about the 2015 American Made Outdoor Gear Award visit www.americanmadeoutdoorgearawards.com. For more details about the program email hello@palemorning.com.

About the American Made Outdoor Gear Award:

Founded by Kokatat and shared with the Outdoor Industry, the American Made Outdoor Gear Award is a celebration of American manufacturing. First awarded in 2013, the American Made Outdoor Gear Award recognizes companies with compelling domestic manufacturing stories. Finalists are announced annually on Black Friday, the day after Thanksgiving, and the winners are recognized at an awards ceremony during the Outdoor Retailer Winter Market. The company with the best “made in America” story receives one-year ownership of the ‘Sassy’ travelling trophy -- a hand carved, 3-foot-tall, redwood Sasquatch from Humboldt County, CA -- and all category winners receive miniature versions of the award. Along with highlighting company stories, the program tracks domestic manufacturing trends and insights in the outdoor industry. Learn more at www.americanmadeoutdoorgearawards.com and follow us on Twitter at @AMOGAward.

About Kokatat Inc.:

Kokatat has been manufacturing paddling gear in Arcata, California for more than 40 years. At a time when many technical apparel brands were moving manufacturing offshore, Kokatat continued to invest in infrastructure in the United States. Kokatat founder Steve O’Meara was committed to the development of the finest and driest paddling apparel in the world and recognized the need to control and continually evolve the development of our dry wear. In the early days, Kokatat worked closely with W.L. Gore & Associates, makers of GORE-TEX®, to refine the sewing and sealing techniques required for full immersion suits and tops. Today, our hands-on approach to manufacturing continues to set the standard in paddling apparel. Into the water with Kokatat! Please visit www.kokatat.com and follow Kokatat on Facebook and Twitter “@kokatat”.

###

Related